Hello world!

Posted: June 12, 2011 in Books, Design, Knitting, Patterns
Tags: , , , ,

Welcome to Archer’s Knits and Crafts! Thank you for stopping by!

The blog is a little bare right now, but my goals for this blog is to document my own adventures in knitting and crafting as I endeavor to learn how to design my own projects, tackle challenging and fun patterns by other designers, and just teach myself in general more exciting and new things. It is my hope that this blog can inspire other people in their own crafting and to try something they may not have thought of before.

Knitgrrl 2 by Shannon Oakey

Knitgrrl 2 by Shannon Oakey

A little bit about me: I’ve been knitting for about two years now. I found a beautiful pattern on a great website, Knitty.com, called the Shipwreck Shawl and decided that I wanted to learn how to make it. So I went out, purchased a knitting book designed for younger girls learning to knit called Knitgrrl 2 (See all Children’s Crafts & Hobbies Books) and some yarn, and taught myself how to knit the Full-of-holes scarf pattern contained within.

I’ve recently developed an adoration for lace knitting. I love the challenge as it is very easy for me to get bored with repetitive patterns. My favorite pattern of late has been the Freya Shawl by Renate Haeckler.

My newest challenge I have set for myself, as I mentioned, is to learn to design my own patterns. As I approach the end of my dissertation for my masters, which means I will once again be thrust into the real world of working and bill payments, I have been looking for something that I could make and sell for some extra cash on the side. From my research, it seems patterns sell better than knitted items, though I’m going to try to do both and perhaps some other crafts that I make along the way.

So please join me in my journey into the world of small business and crafting. Life is an adventure and this looks to be a fun new chapter!

-TheArcher

Leave a Reply

